Sharon’s Bookmarks Weblog











{May 20, 2009}   How Puzzling

I remember something called logic grids from when I was in sixth grade.  These puzzles gave a listing of clues (like Hannah is in front of Joe, but behind Kelly) that you kept track in a grid form to find an answer to a question.

Those were my kind of puzzle.  A mystery that you could use common sense and no guessing to reach a conclusion.  I am still like that.  I don’t like crossword puzzles that require outside knowledge other than logic.

When Sudoku came around, I was hooked.  A puzzle with numbers that didn’t require math skills only reasoning?  I’m in!  For more about Sudoku puzzles, check out websudoku.com.

I’ve been solving Sudoku puzzles since 2006 and recently came across a different kind of number puzzle called KenKen.  Now part of the reason I liked Sudoku so much was that it only relied on logic.  KenKen does involve some simple math facts along with reasoning.  I’ve just started with simple 3X3 grids and addition only, but I think I’ll enjoy this type of puzzle.

I really think keeping your brain active is good for you.  Sudoku and KenKen keep me thinking and are fun too!



Leave a comment

et cetera